Twitter has recently announced that it is making certain changes with regard to handling of the reported tweets as well as the deleted tweets. It will include information about why the tweet was deleted and by whom.
Features of the new update:
Until now, there was no particular explanation when tweets were deleted, either by user themselves or the moderators. There was no information as to whether the reported tweets were deleted due to any public violations. Twitter makes it very clear when tweet gets removed for the purpose of public violations.
What happens to the tweet once it’s deleted:
After the reported tweet has been deleted, a message stating “This tweet is no longer available because it violated Twitter’s rules” will be displayed when the users search for any deleted tweet. This message will be displayed for a period of 14 days after the deletion of the tweet in question, either by the Twitter moderators or the user.
The deleted tweet will no longer be visible in the timeline. Any links that direct to the tweet that has been recently deleted will be 404’ed and will not be available to any user since it violated the Terms of Service (ToS) of Twitter. Certain links which provide more information on the company’s policies and how the rules are enforced will also be available to the users. The users can access these links in order to understand in detail about all the rules and regulations that are followed by Twitter.
Firstly, the information thus obtained may help the users to keep in mind all the policies of Twitter. Secondly, this will make them more careful while posting any tweets. As a result, it will help prevent the users from violating any of the company’s policies. This new feature is not a very big change as such. But it’s part of a series of changes that Twitter is making in an effort to strengthen transparency.
Another new feature of Twitter:
In addition, Twitter has come up with another major change. It deals with the problem quoted by the users who have reported certain tweets. Many of the users certainly do not wish to see the tweets which they have reported.
With the additional feature, after reporting the tweet, a notice that states “You reported this tweet” will appear. Behind which the tweet is hidden. The hidden tweet will be greyed out for the user who has reported it. If the user wishes to view tweet that they previously reported, It can be done by “View” button.
All these changes and policy updates make twitter safer and more secure platform. These changes will roll out to users on the app as well as online.