Shocking! your favourite foods aren’t vegetarian

Many people choose to eat Vegetarian or Non-vegetarian out of their personal choices. Some eat for health, while others for ethical issues. But, unfortunately manufacturers add certain animal parts into food items .

Check out which food items are’t veg.

And, an average herbivore doesn’t give a second thought while consuming these food items that are actually non-vegetarian. But the worst part is that you cannot easily figure out by packaging. You will find that the Ingredient list contains these elements with other names, that you usually ignore.

Read about them here:

1- Red candies

Do you love red candies? who doesn’t. But, not many know how it is made.  The red colour coated over it is due to carmine, a pigment extracted from the female Dactylopius coccus Costa insect. It’s sometimes listed as “cochineal,” “carminic acid” or “carmine.” It in actual is crushed-up beetles, yes you read it right. Carmine, is made from dead crushed up beetles, which comes about when the insects are boiled with sodium carbonate or ammonia, which then produces the attractive, bright red dye.

2- Marshmallows

Yes, your favourite marshmallows fall into the non-vegetarian category.  It contains ‘Gelatin’ which is derived from animals. Gelatin is made up of the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals, mainly, pigs and cows. These are boiled to extract a protein called collagen.The resulting gelatinous substance is also used to make gummy candies, yogurt, ice-cream, face-masks and shampoos.

Also Read| How to stop eating lots of Sugar

3- Figs

Shocking! But yes,. Figs aren’t vegetarian. It contains dead insects within. Wasp requires to pollinate figs. When they do so, they often get trapped inside. And for a fig to be edible, it has to have at least one dead female wasp stuck inside. But as the female wasp dies inside, an enzyme from the fruit breaks down the body into protein. So yes, figs have dead insects inside.

4- Yogurt

Yes you might be disappointed and feel cheated to know that your favourite food isn’t vegetarian. But, not all Yogurts come in the non veg category. The low-fat yogurt contains gelatin which comes from animal skin. So next time you buy, just make sure you check the list well.

5- Refined sugar

The sparkling white sugar that you commonly see and consume, doesn’t get its colour from naturally. In actual, when the sugar is produced, it’s quite dull. Many sugar manufacturers process the sugar using ‘bone char’, which is made from the bones of various animals. To avoid sugar filtered with ‘bone char’, purchase unrefined sugar or buy from brands that don’t use ‘bone char’.

6- Vitamins and medications

Even though no one likes medicines, still we are compelled to take it some or the other day in our life. But most of us aren’t even aware of the fact that a number of medicines contain animal elements.  Checkout for ingredients like Lanolin(E913), Gelatin(E441) and Glycoholic acid, before you go out to buy any. Also, most of the capsules are made from Gelatin, extracted from animal skin.

So, next time before you buy a product, just ensure to look for the ingredients by their hidden names.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Aastha Kochar

Aastha Kochar

A freelance content writer who specializes in writing long-form articles that generate traffic for health and wellness, lifestyle and digital marketing brands.

Ask us,
learn more

Share your Feedback/Query with us and our team will get in touch with you within 2 business Days.

tell us a bit more.